Temple of Debod

Madrid is full of surprises. Who knew there was an ancient Egyptian temple in the heart of the city? Last week I visited the Temple of Debod, which originally stood in Egypt’s Nile Valley. The temple would’ve been underwater by now if not for Spain’s help in saving it from flooding caused by the Aswan Dam. In 1968, it was given to Spain as a gift and was then reassembled in Madrid’s Oeste Park. Quite an amazing hidden gem!!!

It was a beautiful day and I basically went alone on a whim (gotta love spontaneous trips). I threw on a jacket, grabbed my phone and keys, and walked 20 minutes to the park to catch the sunset. There, I experienced the most magical hour, one I’ll never forget. No picture can capture the beauty but I tried anyway.

*Photos taken with iPhone 6, unfiltered

Leave a Reply

