Same Girl, New City

I’ve been wanting to blog for some time, but there never seems to be enough time for everything. Yes, even in the city that never sleeps. But I’m alive and well. I haven’t gotten lost navigating the subway and I haven’t gotten hit from jaywalking way too many times—a true New Yorker as they would say, right? In all seriousness though, New York has been so good to me these past couple months. It still feels surreal that I have to constantly remind myself: “I live here.” I think what’s most amazing about this city are the different neighborhoods that make the city what it is. New York is so much more than Times Square, Central Park, Wall Street, yellow cabs, and skyscrapers. Not that there’s anything wrong with those, but sometimes it’s just nice to walk on the streets and be surrounded by cute dogs (!!!) when you’re having a bad day (or everyday). And who says you can’t enjoy nature in Manhattan? The other day, I was walking to get dinner and the pink sky was absolutely beautiful. The little things…

IMG_2319

 

I have explored many museums in the city: the 9/11 memorial & museum, the Guggenheim, the New Museum, the Museum at FIT, and more. But my favorite has to be the Met. Walking up the steps of the Met was cool because.. well.. Gossip Girl, anyone? Walking into each exhibition section made me feel like I traveled back in time and entered a new era. The overall atmosphere was so real, not to mention, each piece of display was also aesthetically intricate. That reminds me, I should go back soon!

 

Well… I should keep this post short ‘n sweet. Ah. Sweet. Before I end this, I have to say that food in the city is insane. Rolled ice cream? That’s a first. And the number of cute cafes and restaurants actually makes me scream.

IMG_2143.JPG
“Matcha Mania”
FullSizeRender
By Chloe: 100% Vegan

 

I can’t believe it’s December already. My roommates are so awesome they put a little Christmas tree in our room. Yup, it’s starting to look a lot like Christmas. It wasn’t in the 60s today or anything… Anyways, wish me luck for finals week! See y’all on the other side. XX, KT

Leave a Reply

